City of Strongsville Seal

The Detective Bureau consists of eight general detectives, one juvenile detective, one victim/witness advocate, one Detective Sgt. and one Lieutenant. They are under the direction of a Deputy Chief. They work in conjunction with the community beat initiative to provide the best possible services to the city.

In 2012 all case reports were reviewed by the Detective Bureau for completeness and for assignment to detectives.  750 cases were assigned to detectives based on seriousness of offense, solvability factors, need for further arrest, and/or court preparation.  These cases were broken down into four investigative categories:

CLASS 1 Cases that cannot be solved with a reasonable amount of investigation.

CLASS 2 Cases which require a suspect to be arrested, booked, and interrogated and a prosecutable case prepared by the Detective Bureau.

CLASS 3 Cases that may be solved if a reasonable amount of investigative effort is assigned to them.

CLASS 4 Cases where an arrest has been made by the Patrol Division and case must be prepared for court.

 

In addition to case assignments, the Detective Bureau handles most court appearances, including arraignments, pre-trials, and grand jury presentations.  The Detective Bureau completes all background checks on prospective police department employees as well as background checks on all liquor permits.  Certain detectives provide secondary programs such as crime prevention, crime analysis and property and evidence room management.

Training has been an important component for the Detective Bureau personnel. All of the detectives have participated in on-going training in such areas as fraud investigations, computer crime, death investigations, sex crimes, internet crime, and auto theft.

The Detective Bureau looks forward to working with the community and providing another year of quality service to all in 2013.

 

DETECTIVE BUREAU

Detective:

Assignment:

E-Mail:

Greg Cravatas

Bureau Sergeant

Gregory.Cravatas@Strongsville.org

Howard Strong

Crimes

Howard.Strong@Strongsville.org

Marcello Marsala

Crimes

Marcello.Marsala@Strongsville.org

Steve Dzurisin

Major Crimes

Steve.Dzurisin@Strongsville.org

Steve Borowske

Financial Crimes & Property Room

Steven.Borowske@Strongsville.org

Ronald Stolz

Crimes & Property Room

Ronald.Stolz@Strongsville.org

Steve Piorkowski

Juvenile Crime

Steven.Piorkowski@Strongsville.org